Cedars is moving forward

One of the most exhilarating dynamics of leadership for me is being part of a vibrant team. Whether it is working to resolve challenges or developing and outworking vision, knowing that I am doing so surrounded by an enthusiastic and like-minded group of leaders helps enormously.

As I reflect back over the last 15 years that I have been at Cedars, I see a school that is continually growing and improving. Our forward thinking College Board and Executive teams are always looking ahead as to how we can best meet the demands of what has become a dynamic educational environment in Australia. Those familiar with our College Mission statement would already be aware that “Developing Leaders” is included as one of the three key objectives. Similarly, an integral part of the College vision is that we be known as “a College of leadership development through student and faculty achievements”. While much of our attention is around providing opportunities for our students to grow in their leadership abilities, the same can also be said for our teaching staff. So, as well as welcoming many new teachers to the College this year, I am also pleased to announce that there are a number of existing staff members who have been appointed to new leadership positions in 2020.

Our Junior School has been growing steadily over the last couple of years and we now have triple stream Kindergarten and Year 1 classes. This exciting growth is the direct result of the outstanding Prep program and facilities within the Early Learning Centre. We are very thankful for our Director of Primary Mrs Ruth Brown who continues to do an amazing job in leading the team of Primary teachers and this year Mrs Brown will be supported by the Primary Leadership Team.

Primary Leadership Team: Ben Jamieson, Sonia Pozoglou, Robyn Rodwell, Ruth Brown, Brooke Richards, Rebecca Kite, Jonathan Willett

Firstly, Mrs Sonia Pozoglou has taken on the new role of Junior School Coordinator and will work alongside teachers in facilitating programs to enhance the social and emotional wellbeing of students in Kindergarten to Year 4.  Likewise, Mrs Rebecca Kite is the new Middle School Coordinator supporting students and teachers in Years 5-8. Both Mrs Pozoglou and Mrs Kite are passionate about students having the opportunity to reach their potential in all aspects of their lives. Their combined wisdom, enthusiasm and experience will be of tremendous benefit to Junior and Middle School and we look forward to seeing their vision being outworked over the next few years.

There are also a number of new leadership positions in the area of curriculum within Primary. Four stage based leaders will work closely with Mrs Brown to ensure that teaching and learning at Cedars is driven by the latest research and data and reflects best practice. The new KLA/Stage Leaders for Primary in 2020 are;

  • Early Stage 1 – Mrs Brooke Richards
  • Stage 1 – Mr Ben Jamieson
  • Stage 2 – Mrs Robyn Rodwell
  • Stage 3 – Mr Jonathan Willett

As the Cedars community continues to grow, new leadership positions such as these help us to be more effective in meeting the needs of our students and families and at the same time provide opportunity for our staff to develop and exercise their leadership skills. It is a certainly a great time to be part of the Cedars community and I am confident that the depth of skills reflected in our new leadership team will ensure that Cedars continues to be at the forefront of education in the Illawarra in the years to come.